Wellington East Girls’ College wins Junior Premier Grade

The Junior Premier Grand Final was held at Parliament last night hosted by Chris Bishop MP, and President of the Wellington Speaking Union.

The topic was:

That we should refuse to hold major sports events in countries with poor human rights records

St Catherine’s College (Sophia Zandi, Kaira Scheck and Catharina Lee) affirmed the motion.

Wellington East Girls’ College (Ivana Emer, Isla Turner-Holmes and Isabel Holbrow) negated.

After a great and close debate, Wellington East were declared the winners in a 2-1 split decision.

Congratulations to them and their coaches Maureen MacIver and Amy Campbell.

Wellington East win the WGT Wiggs Cup – the school’s first victory of this prestigious trophy.


 Thanks to judges Chris Bishop, Emma Smith and Tamara Jenkin for adjudicating.


Junior Premier – Round One Results

Thanks to all teams for getting their results in so promptly. The affirmative teams tended to prevail in this round, which was on whether New Zealand needs a new flag.

The results below show the winning team in bold.

Sacred Heart v St Bernard’s
HIBS v St Oran’s
Chilton v St Pat’s (Silverstream)
St Pat’s (Town) v St Catherine’s
QMC v Tawa College
Wellington College v Scots College
St Mary’s v Hutt Valley High
Marsden v Wellington East Girls’
Wellington Girls’ – BYE

Key Documents for 2011

Below is a list of key documents for 2011.

WSU Intercollegiate Debating Calendar 2011

Premier A Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

Premier B – Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

Junior Premier – Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

Junior Certificate – Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

The Senior Certificate letter, draw and topics document will be posted asap.

The Results form can be accessed at: www.wsu.co.nz/results

Here’s a copy of the WSU Marksheet for 2011

Intercollegiate Debating – Full List of Results for 2010

Here is a full list of the results in intercollegiate debating and public speaking events this year.

Premier A Grade for the Henning Cup

  • Winners: Sacred Heart College
  • Runners-Up: Scots College

Premier B Grade for the Fred McComish Trophy

  • Winners: Chilton St James School
  • Runners-Up: Tawa College

Senior Certificate Grade for the Rennie Cup

  • Winners: Wellington East Girls’ College
  • Runners-Up: Wellington Girls’ College

Junior Premier Grade for the WGT Wiggs Cup

  • Winners: Sacred Heart College
  • Runners-Up: Hutt International Boys’ School

Junior Certificate Grade for the Wellington Speaking Union Cup

  • Winners: Paraparaumu College
  • Runners-Up: St Patrick’s College, Wellington

Impromptu Cup for the IMPS Trophy and The Evening Post Cup

  • Senior: Wellington College
  • Junior: Wellington College

Stockley Cup / Dunsheath Plate for Public Speaking

  •  Senior: Duncan McLachlan (Wellington College)
  • Junior: Daniel Gendall (Wellington College)

Congratulations to all of the above schools and individuals!

Sacred Heart College win Junior Premier Grade 2010

Sacred Heart College have won their second intercollegiate debating grade for 2010, after defeating Hutt International Boys’ School in the Junior Premier final last night at Turnbull House, winning the WGT Wiggs Cup.

The Sacred Heart team successfully affirmed the motion “That we should ban private health care”, winning in a 2-1 decision.

Congratulations to Maddy Nash,  Harriet Willis, Emma Leahy and Lexi Crosbie.

Commiserations to Prashan Casinader, Matthew Austin, Oliver Pooke, Matt Grenfell, Alexander Ryde and Samuel Williams.

The same Sacred Heart team also defeated the same HIBS team in the final of the Junior Certificate grade last year.

Junior Premier Grand Final

The Junior Premier Grade Grand Final will be held on October 27, with Sacred Heart College affiming and Hutt International Boys’ School negating.

The topic is: “That we should ban private healthcare”.

Debate will be held at Turnbull House, Wellington, at 7pm, followed by a light supper.

Congrats to Sacred Heart and HIBS for making it this far, and commiserations to the beaten semi-finalists, St Mary’s College and Samuel Marsden Collegiate.

Chilton win Junior Premier Grade

The Junior Premier Grade Grand Final for 2009 was held on Tuesday 27 October, with Chilton Saint James School defeating Wellington College to win the W G T Wiggs Trophy.

The Chilton team of Kerry McNulty, Jenna Thompson and Gabrielle You beat Wellington College’s Thomas Leggat, Edward Foley and Chris Smol on the topic “This House would abolish the minimum wage” by a 3-0 margin. Wellington College affirmed the motion and Chilton negated.

Gabrielle Young from Chilton was named the best speaker of the Grand Final. Congratulations and thanks also go to the two coaches – Marisa Gale from Chilton and Thomas Mitchell from Wellington College, both of whom have given up a huge amount of time to coach their teams through the five preliminary and four knockout rounds of debating.

The adjudication panel for the final comprised Victoria Papadopoulos (Scots College), Halina McDonald (St Patrick’s College, Wellington) and Maria Hubbard (St Catherine’s College).

This is the first time Chilton has won the grade since 1995 – when Kathy Ryan, the current grade convenor, was coaching. Interestingly Halina McDonald, who judged the final, was a member of the winning St Cath’s team that won in 1974, the first year the cup was presented!

Junior Premier Quarter-final Results; Semi-finals Draw

Here are the results from the Junior Premier grade quarter-finals which were held recently. Winning teams in bold.

Topic: That we should legalise voluntary euthanasia

Hutt International Boys’ School v Chilton Saint James School
Wellington College v Tawa College
Onslow College v Samuel Marsden Collegiate School
Wellington Girls’ College v St Catherine’s College

The draw for the semi-finals is below. Teams on the left will affirm.

Topic: That we should arm all police officers

Chilton Saint James School v Wellington Girls’ College
Onslow College v Wellington College

Results will be posted after the 23rd of September when the debates are due to take place. Good luck to all teams.

The final rankings for all teams in the Junior Premier grade will be posted shortly too.

Junior Premier Grade – Round Four Results

Here are the results from round four of the Junior Premier Grade – a limited preparation round – held on 24 June.

Queen Margaret College v St Catherine’s College
St Mary’s College v Wellington Girls’ College
St Patrick’s College, Wellington v Tawa College
Chilton St James School v Taita College
Hutt Valley High School v Onslow College
Samuel Marsden Collegiate School
v Sacred Heart College
Scots College v Wellington College
St Bernard’s College v Hutt International Boys’ School
Wellington East Girls’ College

Up to date points table:

Jnr Prem after four rounds