Senior Certificate Grade

The Senior Certificate grade is the lowest of the senior intercollegiate debating grades. Teams must consist of only fifth, sixth, and seventh formers (Years 11, 12 and 13). It is designed for senior students new to debating, in comparison to the Premiers A and B grade, and the emphasis is on learning and participation.

Schools may enter up to three teams in the Senior Certificate Grade.

Speakers in this grade speak for 4-6 minutes and replies are 2-3 minutes.

The Convenor for 2020 is Bridget Scott ([email protected]).

Winners of the Rennie Cup

The winning school each receives the Rennie Cup, first awarded in 1992.


2018: Kapiti College
2017: Wellington Girls’ College
2016: Wellington College
2015: Hutt International Boys’ School
2014: Sacred Heart College
2013: Wellington Girls’ College
2012: Wellington Girls’ College
2011: Sacred Heart College
2010: Wellington East Girls’ College
2009: Tawa College
2008: Tawa College
2007: Wellington College
2006: Upper Hutt College
2005: Onslow College
2004: Wellington College
2003: St Patrick’s College, Wellington
2002: ?
2001: St Catherine’s College
2000: Samuel Marsden Collegiate School
1999: St Patrick’s College, Silverstream
1998: Wellington Girls’ College
1997: Heretaunga College
1996: Upper Hutt College
1995: St Patrick’s College, Silverstream
1994: Sacred Heart College
1993: Onslow College
1992: Wellington Girls’ College


Senior Cert Convenors

2019: Shakked Noy
2018: Shakked Noy
2017: Siobhan Davies & Georgia Bloor-Wilson
2016: Lucy McLeod
2015: Jane Dewar
2014: Jane Dewar
2013: Jane Dewar
2012: Jane Dewar
2011: Jane Dewar
2010: Jane Dewar
2009: Jane Dewar
2008: (Not sure)
2007: (Not sure)