Senior Premier B Grade

The Senior Premier B grade is the middle-ranked intercollegiate debating grade for senior students. Teams must consist of only fifth, sixth, and seventh formers (Years 11, 12 and 13). It is designed for senior students with some experience of debating and with some skills, but who are not quite at the level required for the Premier A grade (the top senior grade).

Schools may enter only one team in the in the Premier B grade.

The grade involves five in-rounds and then progresses to quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals, which are held at Parliament.

Speakers in this grade speak for 7-8 minutes and may be offered points of information between 1 minute and 7 minutes. Replies are 3-4 minutes.

The grade receives support from the Victoria University of Wellington Debating Society, who supply the adjudicators for the grade.

This year’s convenor is Samuel Penno ([email protected]).

Winners of the Fred McComish Trophy

The winning school receives the Fred McComish Trophy, first awarded in 1975. 

2019: Wellington Girl’s College

2018: Wellington College
2017: Kapiti College
2016: Hutt International Boys’ School
2015: Wellington College
2014: Wellington East Girls’ College
2013: St Catherine’s College
2012: Wellington College
2011: Scots College
2010: Chilton St James School
2009: Nga Tawa Wellington Diocesan School
2008: Chilton St James School
2007: St Mary’s College
2006: Sacred Heart College
2005: Wellington College
2004: Wellington East Girls’ College
2003: Wellington Girls’ College
2002: Wellington East Girls’ College
2001: Wellington East Girls’ College
2000: Wellington College
1999: Hutt International Boys’ School
1998: Heretaunga College
1997: St Patrick’s College, Silverstream
1996: Chilton St James School
1995: Wellington East Girls’ College
1994: Wellington College
1993: St Patrick’s College, Silverstream
1992: Chilton St James School
1991: St Patrick’s College, Silverstream
1990: Upper Hutt College
1988: Parkway College
1987: Sacred Heart College
1986: Kapiti College
1985: St Catherine’s College
1982: Kapiti College
1981: St Patrick’s College, Silverstream
1980: St Mary’s College
1977: Erskine College
1976: Samuel Marsden Collegiate School
1975: Erskine College

Past Convenors

The Premier B grade has been convened by the following people over the years:

2019: Brooke Kinajil-Moran
2018: Tamara Jenkin
2017: Tamara Jenkin
2016: Tamara Jenkin
2015: Oscar Battell-Wallace
2014: Oscar Battell-Wallace
2013: Emma Smith
2012: Emma Smith
2011: Udayan Mukherjee
2010: Udayan Mukherjee
2009: Sebastian Templeton