Junior Certificate Grade

The Junior Certificate grade is the lowest WSU Intercollegiate debating grade. Teams must only comprise third and fourth form students (years 9 and 10). It is designed for those new to debating, in comparison to the Junior Premier grade (for more experienced junior students).

Schools may enter up to three teams in the Junior Certificate grade.

The winning school receives the Wellington Speaking Union Cup, first awarded in 1992.

For this year’s draw and results, check out this link.

Wellington Speaking Union Cup Junior Certificate Grade Winners

2016: Kapiti College
2015: Queen Margaret College
2014: Queen Margaret College
2013: Samuel Marsden Collegiate
2012: Wellington High School
2011: Kapiti College
2010: Paraparaumu College
2009: Sacred Heart College
2008: Wellington East Girls’ College
2007: Paraparaumu College
2006: Tawa College
2005: Tawa College
2004: Onslow College
2003: Onslow College
2002: Wellington College
2001: Wellington College
2000: Hutt International Boys’ School
1999: St Mary’s College
1998: St Mary’s College
1997: Wellington Girls’ College
1996: Wellington College
1995: Chilton St James School
1994: Chilton St James School
1993: Wellington Girls’ College
1992: Raphael House