Wellington College wins Premier B Grand Final

On Tuesday September 15 the Grand Final of the Premier B competition for the Fred McComish Cup was held at Parliament hosted by Paul Foster-Bell MP.

The topic was: This house regrets societal norms of monogamy

Wellington College (Ben Stockton, Hansaka Ranaweera, Timothy Rutherford, Jack Roberts (Reserve) affirmed the motion and St Patrick’s College, Wellington negated (Augustine Lee, Tom Hall, Jack Turnbull).

After a great debate, Wellington College were declared the victors.

Thanks to adjudicators Emma Smith, Scott Fletcher, and James Gavey for adjudicating, and also Oscar Battell-Wallace for convening the grade this year.


Senior Premier B Final

The Grand Final for 2012 will be held on Tuesday 11 September at 6.30pm, in the Council Chambers in the Wellington Town Hall.

Congratulations to Sacred Heart College and Wellington College for making it this far in the competition – all are welcome to come and support them.

Motion: That housewives and househusbands should be paid for their work.

Affirmative Negative

Sacred Heart  College                    Wellington College

WSU Entries 2012

Hi all,

Welcome to school debating with the Wellington Speaking Union for 2012. All schools have been emailed a welcome letter which outlines how to sign up for grades this year. You can also download that below. Entries are due by Friday 17th February and are filled out at http://www.wsu.co.nz/signups

WSU Invitation Letter 2012


Sebastian Templeton
WSU President
Intercollegiate Coordinator 2012

Senior Prem B Final

The finalists of Prem B have been determined so congratulations to Wellington High School and Scots College for being the top two teams in the grade this year. They will debate for the Fred McComish Trophy on Monday 12 September at Turnbull House starting at 7pm. The debate will be on the motion “That we should abolish all government restrictions and ratings on the content of entertainment media” with Wellington High affirming and Scots negating.

People are welcome to come and watch what should be an excellent occasion between two strong teams. There will be light refreshments served after the debate. Hope to see many of you there!

Premier B Round 2

The second round of the Prem B competition for 2011 will take place on the 17 May at Wellington East Girls’ College. Please arrive at 6.45pm so that the debates can start at 7pm. The motion that will be debated is ‘That all states should have the right to develop nuclear weapons’. The draw for the round can be found here on the Prem B page.

See you all there!

Key Documents for 2011

Below is a list of key documents for 2011.

WSU Intercollegiate Debating Calendar 2011

Premier A Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

Premier B – Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

Junior Premier – Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

Junior Certificate – Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

The Senior Certificate letter, draw and topics document will be posted asap.

The Results form can be accessed at: www.wsu.co.nz/results

Here’s a copy of the WSU Marksheet for 2011

Intercollegiate Debating – Full List of Results for 2010

Here is a full list of the results in intercollegiate debating and public speaking events this year.

Premier A Grade for the Henning Cup

  • Winners: Sacred Heart College
  • Runners-Up: Scots College

Premier B Grade for the Fred McComish Trophy

  • Winners: Chilton St James School
  • Runners-Up: Tawa College

Senior Certificate Grade for the Rennie Cup

  • Winners: Wellington East Girls’ College
  • Runners-Up: Wellington Girls’ College

Junior Premier Grade for the WGT Wiggs Cup

  • Winners: Sacred Heart College
  • Runners-Up: Hutt International Boys’ School

Junior Certificate Grade for the Wellington Speaking Union Cup

  • Winners: Paraparaumu College
  • Runners-Up: St Patrick’s College, Wellington

Impromptu Cup for the IMPS Trophy and The Evening Post Cup

  • Senior: Wellington College
  • Junior: Wellington College

Stockley Cup / Dunsheath Plate for Public Speaking

  •  Senior: Duncan McLachlan (Wellington College)
  • Junior: Daniel Gendall (Wellington College)

Congratulations to all of the above schools and individuals!