Category: Parliamentary Shield

  • Parliamentary Shield 2011

    Parliamentary Shield 2011 was held on Saturday 4 June at Victoria University. Six teams entered the tournament, and the standard was exceptionally high, with Australs and Worlds finalists making up a number of teams. Three rounds of debates were held, after which the leaderboard looked as follows: Team Waikato (Christopher Bishop, Josh Baxter, Stephen Whittington) […]

  • Parliamentary Shield 2009

    The Premier Debating competition for the Parliamentary Shield debating was held last weekend at Victoria University, with eight teams from around Wellington competing for the famed Shield. On the Saturday three preliminary rounds were held. Each debate was a limited preparation debate with the topics selected from a group of three for each round, shown […]

  • Parliamentary Shield 2009

    The Parliamentary Shield, presented in 1909 by the Wellington Members of Parliament to be the trophy for interclub debating, is a prestigious debating competition for adult debaters in Wellington. Past winners can be found here.   This year’s Parliamentary Shield will be held entirely over one weekend, rather than on weeknights throughout the year.   Here are the […]