Intercollegiate Debating – Full List of Results for 2010

Here is a full list of the results in intercollegiate debating and public speaking events this year.

Premier A Grade for the Henning Cup

  • Winners: Sacred Heart College
  • Runners-Up: Scots College

Premier B Grade for the Fred McComish Trophy

  • Winners: Chilton St James School
  • Runners-Up: Tawa College

Senior Certificate Grade for the Rennie Cup

  • Winners: Wellington East Girls’ College
  • Runners-Up: Wellington Girls’ College

Junior Premier Grade for the WGT Wiggs Cup

  • Winners: Sacred Heart College
  • Runners-Up: Hutt International Boys’ School

Junior Certificate Grade for the Wellington Speaking Union Cup

  • Winners: Paraparaumu College
  • Runners-Up: St Patrick’s College, Wellington

Impromptu Cup for the IMPS Trophy and The Evening Post Cup

  • Senior: Wellington College
  • Junior: Wellington College

Stockley Cup / Dunsheath Plate for Public Speaking

  •  Senior: Duncan McLachlan (Wellington College)
  • Junior: Daniel Gendall (Wellington College)

Congratulations to all of the above schools and individuals!

Congrats to Wellington Regional Teams

A hearty congratulations to the two Wellington teams which competed in the Russell McVeagh New Zealand Schools’ Debating Champs over the weekend.

For the first time since 1996, it was a Wellington v Wellington final, after both teams defeated Auckland in the semi-finals.

Eventually, Wellington Black prevailed. Congrats to Carlos Bowkett (Wellington College), Maria English (Samuel Marsden Collegiate) and Jodie O’Neil (Chilton St James School).

Commiserations to Wellington Gold – Nick Cross (Scots College), Julia Wells (Wellington East Girls’) and Jasmin Moran (Chilton St James).

The Wellington teams were coached by regular adjudicators in the WSU competitions – Polly Higbee and Clodagh O’Connor-McKenna coached Wellington Black and Kathy Scott-Dowell and Seb Templeton coached Wellington Gold.

Three Wellington debaters were named as members of the Russell McVeagh New Zealand Schools’ Debating Team – Maria English, Nick Cross, and Jasmin Moran. Jodie O’Neil received a highly commended award.

Maria was also named as the captain of the team and won the prize for the best speaker of the tournament – incredibly, for the third year in a row. She is the only person in the history of NZ schools’ debating to achieve this feat. Congratulations!

For more information, see