Victoria Shield 2011

Yesterday the WSU held its annual impromptu debating tournament, open to all to enter. Thanks to Samuel Marsden for providing the venue for the day.

Nine teams entered the competition. It was particularly pleasing to see some school students enter, as well as some people from Auckland. The standard of debating was very high, with former winners of the Parliamentary Shield as well as multiple winners of the university impromptu tournament (Easters) all participating.

There were four rounds of debates, followed by semi-finals and the Grand Final. The topics are listed below.

The semi-finalists (in order) were Seb Templeton & Richard D’Ath, Paul Smith & Clodagh O’Connor-McKenna, Udayan Mukherjee & Ella Edginton, and Joe Connell & Kevin Moar.

In the semis, Seb and Richard defeated Joe and Kevin, and Udayan and Ella defeated Paul and Clodagh.

The Grand Final was an excellent debate on the motion “That we should return cultural treasures to their place of origin”. The three judges (Stephen Whittington, Christopher Bishop and Daniel Wilson) were unanimous in awarding the debate to the affirmative team of Udayan Mukherjee and Ella Edginton, who thus won the Victoria Shield for the first time.

Thanks to the adjudicators: Stephen Whittington, Christopher Bishop, Polly Higbee, Daniel Wilson and Tom Mathews.


Round One

  • That we should recriminalise prostitution
  • That heterosexual couples should get Civil Unions in solidarity with homosexual couples

Round Two

  • That we support price gouging in response to natural disasters
  • That we support the bailout of AMI

Round Three

  • That ultra fast broadband is an ultra fast boondoggle
  • That we should ban the publication of opinion polls during election campaigns

Round Four

  • That the West should put troops on the ground in Libya
  • That we support a foreign policy of non-interventionism


  • That we support ticket scalping
  • This House would allow politicians to make specific election promises legally binding in the event of victory


  • This House would return cultural treasures to their place of origin
  • This House would force purchasers of art to pay a royalty to the original creator

Junior Premier – Round One Results

Thanks to all teams for getting their results in so promptly. The affirmative teams tended to prevail in this round, which was on whether New Zealand needs a new flag.

The results below show the winning team in bold.

Sacred Heart v St Bernard’s
HIBS v St Oran’s
Chilton v St Pat’s (Silverstream)
St Pat’s (Town) v St Catherine’s
QMC v Tawa College
Wellington College v Scots College
St Mary’s v Hutt Valley High
Marsden v Wellington East Girls’
Wellington Girls’ – BYE

Vic Shield 2011

On Saturday 16 April, the Wellington Speaking Union will be holding Victoria Shield, an impromptu debating competition. It is run in the Easters style, and is open to all to enter. Entry is free. Past winners can be found here.
There will be four rounds, semis, and a final.  It will not be knock out as in previous years, but instead will be power-paired.  We are hoping to get a very strong adjudication team, and there has even been some interest from outside Wellington.
Unfortunately at this point we cannot confirm where it will be held. We can confirm that it will start at 10 AM. After the final, there will be likely be a BYO dinner arranged.
Please email Stephen Whittington by Wednesday 13th April if you are interested in debating or adjudicating.  For those interested in debating, please email your partner’s name as well.

Key Documents for 2011

Below is a list of key documents for 2011.

WSU Intercollegiate Debating Calendar 2011

Premier A Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

Premier B – Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

Junior Premier – Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

Junior Certificate – Letter, Draw and Topics – 2011

The Senior Certificate letter, draw and topics document will be posted asap.

The Results form can be accessed at:

Here’s a copy of the WSU Marksheet for 2011

Wellington Speaking Union AGM 2010

The Wellington Speaking Union AGM for 2010 was held tonight at Turnbull House. The various reports will be uploaded here soon.

The following people were elected to positions for the 2011 year:

President – Stephen Whittington
Treasurer – Christopher Bishop
Secretary – Daniel Wilson

The Union thanks David Dewar for his work over the last two years as secretary as well as the convenor of the Junior Certificate grade.

Intercollegiate Debating – Full List of Results for 2010

Here is a full list of the results in intercollegiate debating and public speaking events this year.

Premier A Grade for the Henning Cup

  • Winners: Sacred Heart College
  • Runners-Up: Scots College

Premier B Grade for the Fred McComish Trophy

  • Winners: Chilton St James School
  • Runners-Up: Tawa College

Senior Certificate Grade for the Rennie Cup

  • Winners: Wellington East Girls’ College
  • Runners-Up: Wellington Girls’ College

Junior Premier Grade for the WGT Wiggs Cup

  • Winners: Sacred Heart College
  • Runners-Up: Hutt International Boys’ School

Junior Certificate Grade for the Wellington Speaking Union Cup

  • Winners: Paraparaumu College
  • Runners-Up: St Patrick’s College, Wellington

Impromptu Cup for the IMPS Trophy and The Evening Post Cup

  • Senior: Wellington College
  • Junior: Wellington College

Stockley Cup / Dunsheath Plate for Public Speaking

  •  Senior: Duncan McLachlan (Wellington College)
  • Junior: Daniel Gendall (Wellington College)

Congratulations to all of the above schools and individuals!

Paraparaumu College win Junior Certificate Grade 2010

Paraparaumu College have emerged as winners of the Junior Certificate Grade f0r 2010 after defeating St Patrick’s College (Wellington) in the Junior Certificate Grand Final last night at Turnbull House, winning the Wellington Speaking Union Cup.

The Paraparaumu College team successfully negated  the motion “That access to the internet is a human right”, winning in a 3-0 decision.

Congratulations to Callum Brazier, Cameron Matheson, and Jesse Duckworth.

Commiserations to Angus Stallman, Bart English and James Ramsay.

The debate was adjudicated by Joe Connell, Polly Higbee, and next year’s Junior Certificate grade convenor, Nicola Wood.

Sacred Heart College win Junior Premier Grade 2010

Sacred Heart College have won their second intercollegiate debating grade for 2010, after defeating Hutt International Boys’ School in the Junior Premier final last night at Turnbull House, winning the WGT Wiggs Cup.

The Sacred Heart team successfully affirmed the motion “That we should ban private health care”, winning in a 2-1 decision.

Congratulations to Maddy Nash,  Harriet Willis, Emma Leahy and Lexi Crosbie.

Commiserations to Prashan Casinader, Matthew Austin, Oliver Pooke, Matt Grenfell, Alexander Ryde and Samuel Williams.

The same Sacred Heart team also defeated the same HIBS team in the final of the Junior Certificate grade last year.